Orchid

By: houseoftherose

Jul 08 2011

Tags: , , , , ,

Category: emergence, flowers, languedoc, nature, pyrenees, travel

Leave a comment

Aperture:f/5.6
Focal Length:16.8mm
ISO:100
Shutter:1/25 sec
Camera:DMC-FX07

Orchid

by rose marie

July 8, 2011

Here are some facts about orchids (from Wikipedia)

‘The number of orchid species equals more than twice the number of bird species, and about four times the number of mammal species. It also encompasses about 6–11% of all seed plants.’

To me, they are still very special, but looking at the facts they are rather common…. how funny that is. Every time I notice one (mostly after rainfall) I am really pleasantly surprised and find that I have received another present from nature.

This one was found along a path on a slope which is almost completely overgrown. My companion, the dog, was the one that drew my attention to it and since I have taken up the habit of continuously walking with my camera, I was able to take a picture of it. It always feels like a blessing being able to share this wonder with the readers of my blog.

Another Wikipedia fact about the orchid is:

‘The name comes from the Greek órkhis, literally meaning “testicle,” because of the shape of the root.’

What an interesting way to look at it, although I have to admit that to me they have always looked like genitals anyways…. In fact I have found them always kind of sexy …

If you want to share in these finds and observations, you can join us on our walks and hikes in this area of the Aude. Be welcome ……

Leave a Reply

